It’s a class act.

I grew up in Riverside, CA. yup sunny California. You know, no where near any movie stars and about 45 (in traffic) from the beach. I grew up, i don’t want to say spoiled, buuuuuuuuut SPOILED. I got everything i wanted, generally, when i wanted it. I wasn’t the brat though, i never threw a fit if the answer was “no” at the start. I was upper middle class. my neighborhood was filled with business owners, teachers, retired Vietnam vets, electricians, and families that where on well fare. 

we were exactly the same, all of us kids would play together, walk to the movies, Starbucks, the park, even just K-Mart. It was beautiful as it is in Cali. Of course as we got older we realized that there was a difference in class when we wanted to go out and do things when we got older. some of us could just take a trip to LA or go to a concert while others had to stay home because they didn’t have the money. 

It was a real privilege to grow up in such a diverse neighborhood in such a great city, i don’t look down on those who grew up with less than me and i don’t resent those who had more.  

I love my neighborhood, I love my city, and I love my state.

 

Click here for the prompt that this post is in response to. 

6 thoughts on “It’s a class act.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Suburbian Blues | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Memories | Views Splash!

Leave a Reply

